Skip to content

Pleased to meet you…

November 3, 2013

On a chilly spring evening in 2009 I stood on the sidewalk with some friends, waiting to see if there would be seats for us in the storefront theatre that had emerged in downtown Geneva. Alas, the performance of two absurdist one-acts sold out and we were out of luck. But I was intrigued. Who was this company? What inspired their selection of plays? How were they staging work in this venue? At the time, I was living out of state and was only in town for one night, so I never had a chance to witness Headless Sullivan’s debut productions. Fast forward to the summer of 2013. I moved back home to Geneva and quickly added a new question to my list of musings on Headless Sullivan: How can I get involved? A few e-mails, lunch meetings, and one provocative script later and I was confirmed as the director of Headless Sullivan’s winter production.

Before we reveal the title of our winter show and tell you how you can get involved, allow me to introduce myself. My name is Chris Woodworth and I have always considered Geneva home. I grew up in this town, attended the Geneva City Schools, and worked with just about every local theatre group. I’ve sung and danced my way across the stages of the Smith Opera House and the Delevan Theatre in Geneva Theatre Guild and Seneca Community Players productions. I’ve directed for Geneva Theatre Guild, Geneva Youth Theatre, and the Nancy Curvin Playground Players. I’ve taught community-based theatre classes for kids through Geneva Youth Theatre and the Recreation Department. But I’ve lived far away from Geneva for over a decade and a half. My new job—teaching and directing in the Theatre program at Hobart & William Smith Colleges—brought me back. I’ve been directing for almost 20 years in professional, university, community, and youth theatres. And I’m thrilled to be able to make community-engaged art once again for the place I call home.

So what’s in store for Headless Sullivan Theater this winter? A new venue. A disturbing yet amusing play. And a chance for YOU to get involved. Stay tuned…

20131103-184606.jpg

One Comment leave one →
  1. Pete Saracino EdD permalink
    November 7, 2013 1:07 am

    Can’t wait to see it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

